Eight Selected For NU’s Athletic Hall of Fame

Six student-athletes, a legendary head coach, and a Title IX trailblazer have been selected for the University of Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame. 

Among the six athletes are football player Guy Chamberlin, volleyball player Christina Houghtelling and pitcher Shane Komine of NU baseball fame.  Former bowling head coach Bill Straub was also picked, as was Louise Pound, an advocate for women’s athletics around the turn of the last century who is being inducted in honor of the 50th anniversary of Title IX becoming federal law. 

The other athletes selected were men’s gymnast Patrick Kirksey, softball player Ali Viola and track and field athlete Angela Thacker.  The Nebraska Athletic Hall of Fame is on a walkway stretching from outside of East Memorial Stadium to the NU Coliseum.