USDA Announces Disaster Declaration of 13 Nebraska Counties

LINCOLN- The U.S. Department of Agriculture has issued a disaster declaration allowing farm operators from certain counties in central and eastern Nebraska to apply for Farm Service Agency emergency loan assistance.

The USDA announced 13 Nebraska counties as primary natural disaster areas due to the ongoing drought. The announcement also classified 31 counties as contiguous counties. This designation allows farm operators in the primary and contiguous counties eligible to be considered for the FSA emergency loan assistance. Farmers eligible have 8 months from the date of the disaster declaration to apply for emergency loans.

Farmers can find out if they are eligible for assistance at