Solich Selected for College Football Hall of Fame

Former Nebraska head coach Frank Solich is a member of the 2024 College Football Hall of Fame Class.

The 19 players and three coaches were announced on Monday afternoon by the National Football Foundation and the College Hall of Fame.

Solich becomes the seventh Husker coach in the Hall of Fame, joining Tom Osborne, Bob Devaney, Biff Jones, Dana X. Bible, Fielding Yost and Eddie N. Robinson. Overall, Nebraska has 27 members in the Hall, including 20 players.

During his 22 seasons as a head coach, Solich compiled a record of 173-101, including a 58-19 record in six seasons as Nebraska’s head coach from 1998 to 2003, followed by 115 wins as the head coach at Ohio University.

Solich led the Huskers to the 1999 Big 12 Conference championship.  The Huskers finished No. 3 in the AP Poll in 1999 after defeating Texas in the Big 12 Championship Game and beating Tennessee in the Fiesta Bowl.  NU added a co-Big 12 North Division title in 2001, when the Huskers met Miami in the Rose Bowl for the national championship.

A product of the Nebraska football program first as a player, then as an assistant coach, Solich’s career in Lincoln spanned four decades since first arriving in 1962 to play fullback in Devaney’s first season.

In his final game as NU’s assistant head coach and running backs coach, Solich and the 1997 Huskers claimed a share of a third national championship in a four-year span with a resounding 42-17 win over Tennessee in the Orange Bowl, helping Osborne go out as a reigning national champion.

Solich guided Ohio University’s program for 16 seasons from 2005 to 2020. He coached the Bobcats to 12 winning seasons, 11 bowl appearances and four MAC East division titles.  He is the winningest coach in the history of the Mid-American Conference.