QB Martinez Named to Maxwell Award Watch List

Nebraska quarterback Adrian Martinez has been named to the Maxwell Award watch list.  It marks the third straight year he has made the list for the award, which has been presented to college football’s player of the year since 1937. 

Martinez comes off a 2020 season when he completed 71.5 percent of his passes for 1,055 yards and four touchdowns.  He rushed for 521 yards and seven scores.  Martinez became the third player in history to lead Nebraska in both rushing and passing in the same season.

Four Huskers have won the Maxwell Award: Mike Rozier (1983), Tommie Frazier (1995), Eric Crouch (2001) and Ndamukong Suh (2009).