Two Nebraska football greats, Outland Trophy winners Zach Wiegert and Larry Jacobson, are finalists for the College Football Hall of Fame. 

Wiegert is making his sixth appearance on the ballot, while Jacobson is a finalist for the third time. 

Wiegert was a big part of Nebraska’s 1994 National Championship team, leading the Huskers with 113 pancake blocks as NU averaged 340 rushing yards per game.  He was a unanimous first-team All-American and won the Outland Trophy in ‘94. 

Jacobson was a standout for Nebraska’s defense on the Huskers national title teams in 1970 and 1971.  As a senior in ‘71, he tallied 73 tackles, including 12 tackles for loss, earning first-team All-American and Outland honors. 

The 2021 Hall of Fame class will be announced early next year.