Fleetwood Mac – ‘Dreams’
  • Writer: Stevie Nicks
  • Producers: Fleetwood Mac, Richard Dashut, and Ken Caillat
  • Recorded: Late summer and fall 1976 at studios in Sausalito, Los Angeles, North Hollywood, and Miami
  • Released: Spring 1977
  • Players:
    Christine McVie–vocals, keyboards
    Lindsey Buckingham–guitar, vocals
    Stevie Nicks–vocals
    John McVie–bass
    Mick Fleetwood–drums
  • Album: Rumours (Warner Bros., 1977)
  • Also On:
    Fleetwood Mac Live (Warner Bros. 1980)
    Greatest Hits (Warner Bros., 1988)
    25 Years: The Chain (Warner Bros., 1992)
    The Dance (Warner Bros., 1997)
    The Very Best Of Fleetwood Mac (Reprise, 2002)
  • The Stevie Nicks-penned “Dreams” was Fleetwood Mac‘s first and only single to hit Number One on the Billboard Hot 100.
  • Opening with the line “Now there you go again/You say you want your freedom,” “Dreams” openly addressed Nicks’s breakup with her boyfriend and bandmate Lindsey Buckingham, though in gentler terms than the Buckingham-written hit “Go Your Own Way.”
  • The splintering of the couples within the band was obvious on Rumours. Besides Nicks’s split with Buckingham, John and Christine McVie also split up, while Mick Fleetwood‘s marriage went sour.
  • Nevertheless, Rumours was Fleetwood Mac’s crowning achievement, spending 31 weeks at Number One on the Billboard 200 and launching five hit singles.
  • Rumours won a Grammy for album of the year and was also named favorite album at the American Music Awards. The group also won the American Music Award for favorite pop/rock duo or group.


  • Buckingham left Fleetwood Mac in 1987. Nicks remained until 1992.
  • The group reunited for a one-off performance of “Don’t Stop” at Bill Clinton‘s first inaugural celebration on January 19th, 1993, after Clinton used it as the theme song of his presidential campaign.
  • The group got back together in 1997 for the live album The Dance and a reunion tour. Christine McVie has since retired from the band on good terms.
  • Fleetwood Mac was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 1998.
  • The lineup of Fleetwood, Buckingham, Nicks, and John McVie released a new studio album called Say You Will in 2003, which they followed with a lengthy world tour.
  • Buckingham released a solo album in 2006 called Under The Skin.
  • Fleetwood now lives at least part of the year in Hawaii, and recently announced the formation of a group called Mick Fleetwood’s Island Rumours Band.

Sheryl Crow recently announced she will be touring as part of Fleetwood Mac in the future, probably next year. Fleetwood Mac members, however, have said they were surprised she would announce that when nothing has actually been decided.