Moody Blues and Bon Jovi members added to 2018 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Induction

Al Pereira/Getty ImagesWhen the 2018 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees were announced on December 13, founding singer-guitarist Denny Laine wasn’t listed among the members of The Moody Blues set to be enshrined. Also missing from the list of inductees was longtime Bon Jovi bassist Hugh McDonald, Now, thanks to some petitioning from some Rock Hall committee members, both Laine and McDonald will each earn the prestigious honor after all.

“Once the Inductees were determined, the members of the Nominating Committee reviewed the list of artists and made the decision to add Denny Laine of the Moody Blues and Hugh McDonald of Bon Jovi to acknowledge their significant contributions,” wrote the Rock Hall on Twitter.

While Laine co-founded The Moody Blues in 1964, he left the group after their 1965 debut album, The Magnificent Moodies. However, he did sing lead on most of that album’s songs, including the band’s first hit, “Go Now.”

On being added to the induction, Laine tells Billboard, “Obviously, I’m very pleased I’m going to be in there. It’s an honor. I think I’m at least a little part of their story, so I feel very content, really, that it’s all come full circle now.” Following his departure from The Moody Blues, Laine embarked on a solo career and was famously a member of Paul McCartney‘s band Wings during that group’s entire 10-year run.

Laine joins Graeme Edge, Justin Hayward, John Lodge, Mike Pinder and Ray Thomas as the other members of The Moody Blues being inducted into the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame. McDonald, meanwhile, will share the honor with Jon Bon Jovi, David Bryan, Tico Torres and Richie Sambora.

The Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ceremony takes place April 14, 2018, in Cleveland.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.