Alice Cooper, Chrissie Hynde, John Mellencamp, Tom Waits among nominees for Songwriters Hall of Fame

Courtesy of Songwriters Hall of Fame

The nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame in 2018 have been announced, and it’s a lengthy list, incorporating two categories: “Performing” and “Non-Performing” songwriters.

Among the performers, the nominees include Alice Cooper, John Mellencamp, Tom Waits, The Pretenders Chrissie Hynde, Mariah Carey, Tracy Chapman, reggae legend Jimmy Cliff, The Isley Brothers, Kool & the Gang, and rap icons N.W.A.

The non-performing songwriters, and some of their biggest hits, include:

L. Russell Brown/Irwin Levine — “Tie a Yellow Ribbon,” “Knock Three Times,” “I’m Gonna Boogie Tonight,” “Say Has Anybody Seen My Sweet Gypsy Rose,” “I Woke Up In Love This Morning”

Mike Chapman — “Kiss You All Over, “Heart and Soul,” “Better Be Good to Me,” “Little Willy,” “Stumblin’ In”

Randy Goodrum — “You Needed Me,” “Bluer than Blue,” “I’ll Be Over You,” “Foolish Heart,” “Oh Sherrie”

Tony Macaulay — “Baby Now That I’ve Found You,” “Build Me Up Buttercup,” “Don’t Give Up on Us,” “Last Night I Couldn’t Get to Sleep at All,” “Love Grows (Where My Rosemary Goes)”

Denny Randell/Sandy Linzer — “A Lover’s Concerto,” “Let’s Hang On to What We’ve Got,” “Native New Yorker,” “Opus 17 (Don’t Worry ’bout Me),” “Workin’ My Way Back to You”

William “Mickey” Stevenson — “Beechwood 4-5789,” “Dancing in the Street,” “Devil with the Blue Dress,” “It Takes Two,” “Pride and Joy”

Allee Willis — “Boogie Wonderland,” “I’ll Be There for You,” “Neutron Dance,” “September,” “What Have I Done to Deserve This”

To be eligible for induction, a songwriter must have been working for a minimum of 20 years, and have a “notable catalog” of hits.  Members have until December 17 to turn in their ballots.  Winners will be inducted next year in a gala ceremony.

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.