Nebraska Counties Designated as Presidential Disaster Due to Severe Storms, Tornadoes and Flooding

(LINCOLN, NE) - Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced that Greeley County has been designated as a primary natural disaster area due to severe winter storms, tornadoes and flooding.  In addition the following contiguous counties are also considered natural disaster areas eligible for disaster program consideration; Boone, Howard, Nance, Sherman, Valley and Wheeler.
These counties were declared a Presidential Major Disaster on January 7, 2014, based on October 2-6 storm events.  This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers.  Steinkruger stated, “Producers in these seven counties are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated disaster designations.”

In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.
Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at

While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public.  Information is available from these two agencies at the following websites: and