United Soybean Board Grows to 70

ST. LOUIS– With the growth in soybean acres, the United Soybean Board (USB) has added a new farmer-leader. That new director, from Mississippi, was sworn in yesterday  with 12 other new and 22 reappointed directors at USB’s Annual Meeting. Shortly after being sworn in, these directors took part in electing new leadership to begin the strategic-planning process for the next year.

The board elected Jim Call, soybean farmer from Madison, Minn., to lead the board as USB Chairman in 2014.

“I’ve been proud to be a part of USB as it takes its work to a new level,” says Call. “The checkoff’s research to improve and grow demand and preference for U.S. soy really benefits all U.S. soybean farmers.”

Call won’t be by himself in continuing to move the soy industry forward in the areas of meal, oil, freedom to operate and customer focus. He’ll be joined by the executive committee, consisting of:

  • Vice Chairman: Bob Haselwood, Berryton, Kan.
  • Secretary: Lewis Bainbridge, Ethan, S.D.
  • Treasurer: Jared Hagert, Emerado, N.D.
  • Meal Action Team Chair: Laura Foell, Schaller, Iowa
  • Oil Action Team Chair: Lewis Bainbridge, Ethan, S.D.
  • Freedom to Operate Action Team Chair: Richard Fordyce, Bethany, Mo.
  • Customer Focus Action Team Chair: John Motter, Jenera, Ohio
  • International Opportunities Target Area Coordinator: Dwain Ford, Kinmundy, Ill.
  • Supply Target Area Coordinator: Gregg Fujan, Weston, Neb.
  • Communications Target Area Coordinator: Jimmy Sneed, Hernando, Miss.
  • Past Chairman: Jim Stillman, Emmetsburg, Iowa

Additionally, Jim Schriver, soybean farmer from Blufton, Ind., will serve as Domestic Opportunities Target Area Coordinator and David Hartke, soybean farmer Teutopolis, Ill., will chair USB’s Audit and Evaluation committee.

At the annual meeting, farmer leaders also elected the Strategic Management Committee (SMC) to track the progress of checkoff-funded activities to ensure they remain consistent with USB’s long-range strategic plan. Farmer-leaders who will serve on the SMC include:

  • Bob Haselwood, Berryton, Kan.
  • Todd Gibson, Norborne, Mo.
  • Nancy Kavazanjian, Beaver Dam, Wis.
  • Ron Ohlde, Palmer, Kan.
  • Jim Stillman, Emmetsburg, Iowa

New USB directors who were sworn in include:

  • Wilfrid Bibus, Chesterfield, N.J.
  • James Domagalski, Columbus, Mich.
  • Daniel Farney, Morton, Ill.
  • Cameron Gibson, Orange, Va.
  • Gregory Greving, Chapman, Neb.
  • Derek Haigwood, Newport, Ark.
  • Ralph Lott II, Seneca, N.Y.
  • Douglas Simmons III, Leland, Miss.
  • David Wansley, Vicksburg, Miss.
  • Grant Watermann, Vona, Colo.
  • David Williams, Elsie, Mich.
  • Kevin Wilson, Walton, Ind.
  • Dallas Wright, Millsboro, Del.

Reappointed directors include:

  • Lewis Bainbridge, Ethan, S.D.
  • Bill Beam, Elverson, Pa.
  • Charles Cannatella, Melville, La.
  • Delbert Christensen, Audubon, Iowa
  • Bob Derr, Marshall, Wis.
  • John Dodson, Halls, Tenn.
  • Richard Fordyce, Bethany, Mo.
  • Gregg Fujan, Weston, Neb.
  • Paul Fruendt, Cuthrie, Okla.
  • Jared Hagert, Emerado, N.D.
  • Robb Hanks, LeRoy, Minn.
  • Bob Haselwood, Berryton, Kan.
  • Nancy Kavazanjian, Beaver Dam, Wis.
  • Keith Kemp, West Manchester, Ohio
  • Steve Moore, Sudlersville, Md.
  • Ron Ohlde, Palmer, Kan.
  • Jacob Parker, Columbia, N.C.
  • Dale Profit, Van Wert, Ohio
  • Jim Schriver, Bluffton, Ind.
  • Joel Thorsrud, Hillboro, N.D.
  • Jim Willers, Beaver Creek, Minn.
  • Doug Winter, Mill Shoals, Ill.

The 70 farmer-directors of USB oversee the investments of the soy checkoff to maximize profit opportunities for all U.S. soybean farmers. These volunteers invest and leverage checkoff funds to increase the value of U.S. soy meal and oil, to ensure U.S. soybean farmers and their customers have the freedom and infrastructure to operate, and to meet the needs of U.S. soy’s customers. As stipulated in the federal Soybean Promotion, Research and Consumer Information Act, the USDA Agricultural Marketing Service has oversight responsibilities for USB and the soy checkoff.


Listener Club

Register here to become a member of our Loyal Listener Club!

Listener Club Links

Register / Login