NAP Coverage Available for 2014 Annual Forage Crops in Nebraska

The Risk Management Agency (RMA) recently announced a pilot program that offers a CAT level Rainfall Index-Annual Forage Insurance Plan to producers in Nebraska, Texas, Kansas, North Dakota, Oklahoma and South Dakota for annual forage crops used for livestock feed or fodder.

Because there is limited time for producers in these states to transition from NAP to the new RMA pilot program, an exception was made that will allow the states to continue offering NAP coverage for 2014. However, NAP coverage will not be available in 2015 for these same annual forage crops. 

Eligible producers can apply for 2014 NAP coverage at their local county FSA office using form CCC-471, Application for Coverage. Producers must file the application and service fee by the September 30, 2013 deadline for fall seeded forage crops and March 15, 2014 for spring seeded annual forage crops.

Filed Under :  
Topics : Environment
Social :
Locations : KansasNebraskaNorth DakotaOklahomaSouth DakotaTexas


Listener Club

Register here to become a member of our Loyal Listener Club!

Listener Club Links

Register / Login