Dawson & Merrick Counties Designated Livestock Friendly

Nebraska City, NE~~Dawson and Merrick Counties have received the Livestock Friendly County designation.  Nebraska Governor Dave Heineman officially announced the designation for the two counties Tuesday. 

Heineman said “the designation of Dawson and Merrick counties as Livestock Friendly is a fitting way to celebrate Ag Week in Nebraska.” 

Nebraska now has 26 counties that have been designated as Livestock Friendly through the state program.  Dawson and Merrick counties join Adams, Banner, Box Butte, Cuming, Dawes, Deuel, Dodge, Gage, Garden, Grant, Hitchcock, Holt, Jefferson, Johnson, Kimball, Keith, Lincoln, Morrill, Otoe, Saline, Scotts Bluff, Sheridan, Wayne and Webster counties.