Neil Young announces complete details of “Paradox” soundtrack album

Reprise RecordsNeil Young has unveiled full details of the soundtrack album to Paradox, the new movie he stars in which was written and directed by his girlfriend, actress Daryl Hannah.  

The film gets its world premiere this Thursday, March 15, at the South by Southwest Film Festival in Austin, Texas. The album, which can be pre-ordered now, will be released as a two-LP vinyl set and a digital download on March 23, and on CD on April 20.

Paradox (Original Music from the Film) features recordings Young made with his backing group Promise of the Real and an orchestra, with session drummer Jim Keltner and bassist Paul Bushnell, and solo. The soundtrack includes narration from the movie recited by Willie Nelson, new versions of older songs by Neil, covers, new original tunes, and solo electric guitar passages.

All of the music on the soundtrack was recorded spontaneously, with almost no overdubs added. The vinyl version features music on three sides and a specially designed etching on the fourth.

Paradox is Western fantasy set in an unknown year, focusing on a band of outlaws hiding in the mountains and searching for treasure. In addition to Young, the film features Nelson and the members of Promise of the Real, whose members include Willie’s sons Lukas and Micah.

Neil portrays the “Man in the Black Hat,” while Lukas and Micah play characters called the “Particle Kid” and “Jail Time,” respectively.

The film’s premiere is scheduled for March 15 at 7 p.m. local time at the Paramount Theater in Austin. Paradox will then get its television debut on March 23 on Netflix, and will have a limited run of theatrical screenings.

Here’s the full track list of the vinyl version of the Paradox soundtrack; all songs written by Young unless otherwise noted:

Side 1
“Many Moons Ago in the Future” (Narration by Willie Nelson)
“Show Me”
“Paradox Passage 1”
“Paradox Passage 2”
“Diggin’ in the Dirt” — Chorus (written by Neil Young, Lukas Nelson & Micah Nelson)
“Paradox Passage 3”
“Peace Trail”

Side 2
“Cowgirl Jam”
“Angel Flying Too Close to the Ground” (written by Willie Nelson)

Side 3
“Paradox Passage 4”
“Diggin’ in the Dirt” (written by Neil Young, Lukas Nelson & Micah Nelson)
“Paradox Passage 5”
“Running to the Silver Eagle” (written by Neil Young + Promise of the Real)
“Baby What You Want Me to Do?” (written by Jimmy Reed)
“Paradox Passage 6”
“How Long?” (written by Huddle Ledbetter)
“Happy Together” (written by Garry Bonner & Alan Lee Gordon)

Side 4
Etched artwork

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.