Three limited-edition David Bowie vinyl releases to be available on Record Store Day

ParlophoneThe full official list of Record Store Day 2018 releases will be announced on Tuesday, March 6, but in advance of that comes word that three limited-edition vinyl offerings from David Bowie will go on sale at independent record shops on April 21.

The offerings include a three-LP unreleased concert album called Welcome to the Blackout (Live London ’78), a white-vinyl edition of the rare 1977 promo compilation Bowie Now, and a 12-inch single featuring two versions of “Let’s Dance.”

Welcome to the Blackout features performances from a pair of shows Bowie played at London’s Earls Court venue on June 30 and July 1 of 1978. Among the songs included are “‘Heroes’,” “The Jean Genie,” “Sound and Vision,” “Fame,” “Ziggy Stardust,” “Suffragette City” and “Rebel Rebel.” The album boasts a newly designed tri-fold sleeve.

This marks the first official release of Bowie Now, which was previously available as a U.S.-only promotional disc. It features remastered versions of a selection of lesser-known tunes from David’s 1977 studio albums Low and “Heroes”. The Record Store Day release offers a newly designed inner sleeve boasting rare black-and-white pics taken in Berlin in 1977.

The “Let’s Dance” 12-inch features a previously unreleased full-length demo of the 1983 hit that was mixed by Nile Rodgers this past December, plus a live version Bowie performed at a September 12, 1983, concert in Vancouver, Canada. The live rendition was previously only available on a limited-edition vinyl single sold exclusively at the “David Bowie Is” exhibition’s stop in Australia.

Here’s the track list for the Welcome to the Blackout three-LP set:

Side 1
“What in the World”

Side 2
“Be My Wife”
“The Jean Genie”
“Sense of Doubt”

Side 3
“Speed of Life”
“Sound and Vision”
“Breaking Glass”
“Beauty and the Beast”

Side 4
“Five Years”
“Soul Love”
“Hang On to Yourself”
“Ziggy Stardust”
“Suffragette City”

Side 5
“Art Decade”
“Alabama Song”
“Station to Station”

Side 6
“TVC 15”
“Rebel Rebel”

And here’s the track list of the Bowie Now compilation:

Side 1
“V-2 Schneider”
“Always Crashing in the Same Car”
“Sons of the Silent Age”
“Breaking Glass”

Side 2
“Speed of Life”
“Joe the Lion”
“What in the World”
“Weeping Wall”
“The Secret Life of Arabia”

Copyright © 2018, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.