Rocking at the Fox: Allman Brothers releasing box set featuring performances from 2004 Atlanta shows

Peach Records/RED DistributionThe Allman Brothers Band are releasing an expansive archival live collection called The Fox Box, capturing three full concerts that the legendary group played in September 2004 at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta.

The physical version of the box set, which features eight CDs, will be available on April 28, while a digital edition was released on Friday.

The shows, which took place on September 24, 25 and 26, featured the final Allman Brothers lineup supporting its last studio album, 2003’s Hittin’ the Note. The band was joined by a few guest musicians during the three-date engagement, including former Allman Brothers guitarist Jack Pearson, ABB slide-guitarist Derek Trucks‘ wife and collaborator Susan Tedeschi and founding Allmans drummer Butch Trucks‘ son Vaylor.

The band played a completely different set at each of the three concerts, with the exception of the early gem “Dreams,” which was performed at all of the shows.  Still, the group showcased many of its best-known songs at the gigs, including “Midnight Rider,” “Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More,” “Melissa,” “Statesboro Blues,” “One Way Out,” “Blue Sky” “In Memory of Elizabeth Reed” and “Whippin’ Post.”

The band also played a variety of interesting covers, among them Derek and the Dominos‘ “Layla” and “Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?,” The Grateful Dead‘s “Franklin’s Tower,” The Band‘s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down” and Dr. John‘s “I Walk on Guilded Splinters.”

The shows featured in The Fox Box previously were available as part of The Allman Brothers Band’s “Instant Live” program, which was sold at the group’s concerts and via internet mail order.

Here’s the full track list of the CD version of The Fox Box:


Disc 1
“Mountain Jam”
“Trouble No More”
“Midnight Rider”
“Wasted Words”
“Worried Down with the Blues”
“You Don’t Love Me”
“Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More”

Disc 2
“Rockin’ Horse”
“Hot ‘Lanta”
“Come and Go Blues”
“Can’t Love What You Never Had”
“Why Does Love Got to Be So Sad?”
“Franklin’s Tower”

Disc 3
“Black Hearted Woman”
“Dreams” (with Jack Pearson)
“Mountain Jam (reprise)” (with Jack Pearson)
“Southbound” (with Jack Pearson)


Disc 1
“Les Brers (Intro)”  
“Don’t Want You No More”/”It’s Not My Cross to Bear”
“Statesboro Blues”
“Stand Back”
“Who’s Been Talking”
“Good Clean Fun”
“Old Before My Time”
“Woman Across the River”
“Instrumental Illness”

Disc 2
“The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down”
“Leave My Blues at Home”
“Key to the Highway”
“Don’t Think Twice, It’s Alright” (with Susan Tedeschi)  
“One Way Out” (with Valor Trucks)  
“Blue Sky”
“Les Brers in A Minor”


Disc 1
“Every Hungry Woman”
“Done Somebody Wrong”
“Hoochie Coochie Man”
“High Cost of Low Living”
“44 Blues”
“End of the Line”

Disc 2
“I Walk on Guilded Splinters”
“Stormy Monday”
“The Same Thing” (with Rob Baracco)
“In Memory of Elizabeth Reed” (with Rob Baracco)

Disc 3
“In Memory of Elizabeth Reed” (continued) (with Rob Baracco)
“Don’t Keep Me Wonderin'”
“No One to Run With”
“Whippin’ Post”

Copyright © 2017, ABC Radio. All rights reserved.