Nebraska Farm Bureau Board of Directors Appoints New District 3 Board Member

LINCOLN, NE – The Nebraska Farm Bureau Federation (NFBF) Board of Directors appointed Martey Stewart, a member of the Dixon County Farm Bureau, to represent District 3 on the state Board of Directors. District 3 represents nine counties in the northeast corner of Nebraska. Former board member Joni Albrecht of Thurston resigned her board position in February to run for the District 17 seat in the Nebraska Legislature. The District 17 legislative seat is now held by State Sen. Dave Bloomfield of Hoskins, who is term limited from running for re-election.

Stewart is currently president of the Dixon County Farm Bureau and serves on Nebraska Farm Bureau’s State Legislative Policy Committee. He has served on Farm Bureau’s state Nominating and Credentials committees and is a 2008 graduate of the NFBF Leadership Academy. Stewart plays an active role in his local 4-H Clubs. Stewart is a graduate of the Nebraska LEAD class XXVIII and was active in the Nebraska Pork Producers Association. Martey and his wife, Linda live on a farm near Dixon and raise cattle.

“There were a number of interested members seeking the District 3 board appointment and we greatly appreciate their interest and time. We welcome Martey Stewart to the NFBF Board of Directors. He will do an excellent job in representing County Farm Bureaus in District 3 and farm and ranch members across the state as we continue to work on strategies to advocate for and protect Nebraska agriculture,” Steve Nelson, president of the Nebraska Farm Bureau said.

According to NFBF bylaws, Stewart will serve on the Board as the District 3 representative until the 2016 Annual Meeting, December 4-6, 2016. At that time, voting delegates will vote on candidates who have been nominated to fill the remaining term of the District 3 position on the Board. Farmers and ranchers who are Farm Bureau members in District 3 are eligible to run as a candidate for the Board position. Stewart plans on running for re-election for that position.