NU Volleyball’s Foecke a Sullivan Award Finalist

Nebraska volleyball player Mikaela Foecke is now among seven finalists vying for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award. Former Husker wrestler Jordan Burroughs is also one of the seven finalists headed to New York next month.

Foecke is trying to become the first volleyball player in history to claim the award, which has been given annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the U.S. Burroughs is now with USA Wrestling.

The other finalists are football players Derrick Henry of Alabama and Navy’s Keenan Reynolds, UConn basketball player Breanna Stewart, speed skater Brittan Bowe and gymnast Simone Biles.

The award winner will be announced on April 10th.