Longtime Natural Resources Leaders Elected to Higher Offices

(Lincoln, NE) – New officers were elected during the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts (NARD) Board meeting on March 7, 2016. Jim Bendfeldt from the Central Platte Natural Resources District (CPNRD) was elected as President of the association. Bendfeldt is a retired farmer/feeder from Kearney. He has been a member of the CPNRD Board for twelve years and served as Vice-President from 2014-16 and Secretary-Treasurer from 2012-14. In 2011, Bendfeldt was awarded the NARD Director of the Year. Currently, Bendfeldt also serves on the Platte River Recovery Implementation Program Board as a land acquisition member.

“I’m looking forward to serving as the President for the state association,” said Jim Bendfeldt, President of the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts. “This provides a great opportunity to help protect the future of Nebraska’s natural resources.”

The NARD Board elected Larry Reynolds from Tri Basin NRD (TBNRD) as Vice-President.  Reynolds has been a member of the TBNRD Board for 31 years and served in the United State Air Force for eight years and in the Nebraska Air National Guard for 18 years. Reynolds currently farms and helps manage a cow/calf operation near Lexington. Reynolds served as Secretary-Treasurer from 2014-16.

“It’s been a privilege to serve in an organization that’s the envy of the nation,” said Larry Reynolds, Vice President of the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts.

The NARD Board elected David Potter as Secretary/Treasurer.  Potter has served as the Lower Platte South representative to the NARD Board since 2014.  Potter is serving his 14th year on the Lower Platte South NRD Board. He’s employed by JEO Consulting Group in Lincoln, owns and operates Potter’s Landscaping and has been on the Butler County Board of Supervisors since November of 2014.

“I’ve enjoyed my time on the NRD and NARD Boards as we find solutions to preserving our important resources,” said David Potter, Secretary/Treasurer of the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts. “I look forward to serving in yet another capacity for the Nebraska Association of Resources Districts as an officer.”

The officers serve on the NARD executive committee along with chairs from the Information and Education committee, Legislative committee and the past NARD Board President. Martin re-appointed Jim Johnson from South Platte NRD as chair of the Information and Education committee and Jim Meismer, Twin Platte NRD, as chair of the Legislative and Government Affairs committee. Terry Martin from the Upper Republican Natural Resources District (URNRD), will serve on the executive committee as the past NARD Board President. Martin has served 16 years on the URNRD Board and currently is board Chairman. He’s has served nine years as an NARD Board representative. Martin previously held the President, Vice President and Secretary/Treasurer positions.

The NARD board consists of representation from each of the local 23 NRDs. The board members meet five times throughout the year and help guide the association and the NRDs in decision-making that protects lives, protects property and protects the future of Nebraska’s natural resources.

At the March 4, 2016  Managers meeting, Jack Russell, Middle Republican NRD Manager, was elected as Chair of the Managers Committee and Mike Sousek, General Manager of the Lower Elkhorn NRD, was elected Vice-Chair of the Managers Committee.   The Managers Committee includes managers from all 23 districts.  The committee meets five times a year with coordinated NRD activities with state and federal agencies, conservation partners and other parties to protect natural resources.