Nebraska Counties Designated as Presidential Disaster Due to May and June Storms

(LINCOLN, NE) – Farm Service Agency (FSA) State Executive Director, Dan Steinkruger, announced 51 Nebraska counties have been designated as primary and contiguous natural disaster areas due to severe storms, tornadoes, straight-line winds, and flooding. The primary (notated with an asterisk) and contiguous counties are Adams*, Arthur*, Box Butte*, Buffalo, Butler, Cedar, Chase, Clay*, Cuming, Dawes*, Dixon, Dundy, Fillmore*, Frontier, Gage, Garden, Grant, Hall, Hamilton*, Hayes*, Hitchcock, Hooker, Jefferson, Johnson*, Kearney, Keith, Lancaster, Lincoln, McPherson, Madison, Merrick, Morrill, Nemaha*, Nuckolls, Otoe, Pawnee*, Perkins, Pierce, Polk, Richardson*, Saline, Scotts Bluff, Seward*, Sheridan, Sioux*, Stanton, Thayer, Thurston, Wayne*, Webster, and York*.

The primary counties were declared a Presidential Major Disaster on August 14, 2015, based on May 6 to June 17, 2015 storms. This designation authorizes Emergency (EM) Loans for eligible producers in primary and contiguous counties. Steinkruger stated, “Producers in these 51 counties are encouraged to contact their local FSA Service Center for detailed information about available programs and updated disaster designations.”

In addition to the Emergency (EM) Loan Program, the FSA has other loan programs and disaster assistance programs which can be considered in assisting farmers to recover from their losses.

Contact your local FSA Service Center or access additional information about FSA Disaster Assistance and Farm Loan programs at

While this release pertains to the availability of FSA programs, other federal agencies such as FEMA (Federal Emergency Management Agency) and SBA (Small Business Administration) may also have assistance to the public. Information is available from these two agencies at the following websites: and