Gov. Heineman Announces Members of 2015 Nebraska Ag Youth Council

(Lincoln, Neb.) Today, Gov. Dave Heineman and Department of Agriculture Director Greg Ibach announced the selection of the members of the 2014-2015 Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council (NAYC). The council is comprised of college-aged students from throughout the state who exhibit a passion for agriculture and promote the industry through educating others.

“It’s an exciting time to be involved in the agricultural industry, and each of these young adults has exhibited a passion for educating others about the importance of agriculture,” said Gov. Heineman. “These are the future leaders of our agricultural industry, and I am excited to see what these students accomplish during the upcoming year on the Nebraska Agricultural Youth Council.”

The NAYC is entering its 44th year with the installation of the new council members. Throughout the year, the council coordinates several agricultural learning experiences for Nebraska youth including: visiting elementary classrooms to discuss where food comes from, taking urban youth to experience farms and what a day in the life of a farmer is like and visiting with high school students from across the state. The primary focus of the NAYC is to coordinate the annual Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute (NAYI), a five-day summer conference for current high school juniors and seniors.

This year’s council is comprised of 21 college-aged men and women.

The 2014-2015 NAYC leaderships includes: Johnny Ference, Ord, Head Counselor; Trent Mastny, Howells, Head Counselor; Larissa Wach, Wauneta, President; Morgan Zumpfe, Friend, Secretary; Samantha Schneider, Cozad, Vice President of the Communications and Social Media Committee; Hannah Gaebel, Ashland, Vice President of the NAYI Improvement Committee; Eric Wemhoff, Humphrey, Vice President of the Promotion Committee; Aksel Wiseman, Hershey, Vice President of the Sponsorship and Alumni Relations Committee; and Toni Rasmussen, Albion, Vice President of the Youth Outreach Committee.

Additional members are: Elizabeth Rice, Murray; Railen Ripp, Kearney; Dylan Dam, Hooper; Grant Uehling, Uehling; Haley Bledsoe, Blair; Kate Likens, Swanton; Kory Wagner, Creighton; Landon Swedberg, North Platte; Maggie Louthan, Smithfield; Rachel Ibach, Sumner; Rebecca Cornelius, Madrid; and Sarah Wollenburg, Beatrice.  

To learn more about the NAYC or NAYI, please visit the NAYI website at or search for Nebraska Agricultural Youth Institute on Facebook.